Liturgies Of the Coptic Orthodox Church

There are three main Divine Liturgies used in the Coptic Church, namely:

  • The Liturgy of Saint Basil, Bishop of Caesaria
  • The Liturgy of Saint Gregory of Nazianzus, Bishop of Constantinople
  • The Liturgy of Saint Cyril I, the 24th Patriarch of the Coptic Church


The bulk of Saint Cyril's liturgy is based on that used by Saint Mark in the first century. It was memorised by the bishops and priests of the Church, until it was translated into the Coptic language from the Greek. Today, these three liturgies, with some additions, are still in use, the Liturgy of Saint Basil being the most commonly used.